Railsponsible is pleased to announce a new governance model and leadership committee for the next two years.

Revised Governance

Following significant growth in membership, the Railsponsible secretariat and members conducted a detailed review of the initiative’s governance and have created a new model to strengthen and streamline decision-making.

Leadership Committee

Railsponsible is guided by a Leadership Committee, which is an elected body composed of member companies’ Chief Procurement Officers (CPOs) or similar C-suite roles. The Leadership Comittee will:

  • Provide oversight and strategic guidance
  • Ratify decisions from Membership Committee
  • Represent the initiative to external stakeholders

In March 2019, members elected the new Leadership Committee, which will represent Railsponsible for the next two years:

  • Stefan Burkle (SNCF) – Chairman
  • Christophe Gourlay (Alstom)
  • Nicolas Lange (Knorr-Bremse)
  • Koen Bergs (SNCB)
  • Jeroen Wegkamp (NS)
  • Brigitte Schuessler (OBB)
  • Stephan Pfuhl (SBB)

More information and biographies of the Leadership Committee can be found here.

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee, composed of representatives of member companies with adequate skills and decision-making capability, has responsibility for:

  • Developing and enacting the strategy for the initiative
  • Developing an annual work plan of specific activities
  • Ensuring that activities are within the budget

BSR acts as the Railsponsible secretariat and will continue to play a key role in shaping and facilitating the initiative. Ecovadis remains a key provider of supplier assessment services for our members.

Download the Railsponsible Governance Handbook.